World Association of News Publishers

Philippines Media Freedom Committee

Philippines Media Freedom Committee

Article ID:


Manila Chair persons: Aurea Calica, Senior Journalist, Philippine Star & Joyce Panares, Senior Journalist, The Standard

Cebu Chair persons: Nini Cabaero, Editor-in-Chief, & Mildred Galarpe, Managing Editor,

Davao Chair person: Editha Caduaya, Publisher,

Participating media: Philippine Star, The Standard,,,, Business Mirror Daily, Coconuts, Cebu Daily News


1st MFC country representatives  and project staff planning meeting -  Helsinki, 3 May (World Press Freedom Day) 2016

SMS workshop in conjunction with WAN-IFRA Asia Audience Intelligence Summit (Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, July 2016)

Media Freedom Gathering In Singapore (7-10 November 2016)

SMS workshop on Fake News in Asia and Verification, and participation at UNESCO World Press Freedom Day conference (Jakarta, 2-5 .2017)

SMS MasterClass (Durban, June 2017)

Women in News Summit (Durban, June 2017)

Editors Forum and Journalist Safety Training, in collaboration with A Culture of Safety Alliance (ACOS) and Center for Media Freedom and Responsibility (CMFR) Cebu 12-17 September 2017

Writing of Cebu Declaration, 13 September 2017

Meeting with President Duterte and delivering of Cebu Declaration, 18 September 2017

Creation of the MFCs of Mindanao and Cebu, 13 September 2017

Protest campaign against Rappler order of closure, 18 January 2018

Mindanao Safety Training, in cooperation with the ACOS Alliance, 18-22 April 2018, and creation of the Mindanao Press Council


Contact the Philippines Media Freedom Committee at media.freedom(at)


Andrew Heslop's picture

Andrew Heslop


2017-11-20 18:53

Contact information