World Association of News Publishers

Kenya Media Freedom Committee

Kenya Media Freedom Committee

Article ID:


Chair person: Churchill Otieno, Digital Editor, Nation Media Group

Participating media: Nation Media Group, Media Max, Radio  Africa Group, Royal Media, The Standard


1st MFC country representatives  and project staff planning meeting in Helsinki during 3 May - World Press Freedom Day

SMS DS workshop, Grahamstown, in conjunction with Highway Africa conference (August 2016) 

MFC Meeting in Nairobi, with the participation of Henry Maina (Article 19) and CEO of Media Council, Haroun Mwangi, 10 April 2017

Twitterthon on media freedom (beginning  on May 2 and trending topic on Twitter in Kenya by May 3)

SMS MasterClass (Durban, June 2017)

Women in News Summit (Durban, June 2017)

Article regarding threats to journalists during Kenya elections (30 August 2017)

MFC Safety Training ahead of presidential elections, in collaboration with IREX (June 2017)

Webinar with Sandra Roberts, Head Researcher of Fray Intermedia  on "African Journalists on Social Media: Harassment or Freedom?” - 22 September 2017

Physical, Online and Emotional Safety Training, Nairobi, 15-16 December 2017


Contact the Kenya Media Freedom Committee at media.freedom(at)


Andrew Heslop's picture

Andrew Heslop


2017-11-20 18:25

Contact information